Bioelectric Impedance Analysis (BIA)

19 Feb
English: Soehnle body scale with integrated bo...

English: Soehnle body scale with integrated body fat and water monitor. Dansk: Soehnle badevægt med integreret kropsfedtmåler og kropsvandmåler (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Today I am having my first Bioelectric Impedance Analysis (BIA). I didn’t even know what that was before today. BIA is being offered as part of our wellness plan at work. Should be interesting. I thought I was just meeting with a dietician. I admit to being a little scared when I read, “due to the use of a small electrical pulse, those who are pregnant or have a pacemaker should not use BIA.” Of course I am neither pregnant nor do I have a pacemaker. But still.

 

Apparently the BIA device looks like a bathroom scale and you just stand on it barefoot for a minute to find out your body composition profile, including weight, body fat % (total and segmental), body water %, muscle mass, bone mass, daily calorie needs, metabolic age and physique rating. It’s a way to track your progress over time, for things like trying to become more fit, better hydrated or to simply have an idea of health status as time goes by.

 

2 Responses to “Bioelectric Impedance Analysis (BIA)”

  1. TerriAnn van Gosliga March 12, 2013 at 5:06 am #

    I totally thought it was a scale at first. Who knew it could gather so much data! When I saw this URL I thought, “Hmm, that doesn’t look familiar.” Then I visited the page and it was you! Welcome back to the blogging world – I’ve missed you Lisa 🙂

    • Lisa March 14, 2013 at 12:50 pm #

      Thanks TerriAnn! I’m just blogging as a way to keep track of healthy living information. I wish I had more time to blog. I may not comment much but I still faithfully follow your blog! I love it. Take care.

Leave a Reply

